Books and Presents You Need

Few things that didn’t fit into my “2007” in review post, so I figured I’d list them out here.

You need to read Soon I Will Be Invincible by Austin Grossman if you like comic books, superheroes, or just a fun send up on the genre. Told in dual perspective by Evil Genius, Doctor Impossible, and mysterious (to her ownself) new Superhero Fatale, its got enough “dole out the big information in pieces” storytelling, fun prose and random mentions of events that you and I know never happened (a government sponsored superhero program in the 50s?) to make it seem both realistic and totally fantastic at the same time. Also, I read it in two days.

Jason got me The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass for Christmas, and since I fired it up on the 26th during our drive home, I’ve been inseparable to this game.  At first, I didn’t like the “stylus” only controls, but now I’m finding it clever and fun (though its hard to play if and when your hand starts hurting). I’ve only had to check on the walkthrough at Gamespot three five times but most of the puzzles are easy enough for even yours truely to figure them out (its hard to rely on Gamespot when you’re stuck on the Jersey Turnpike). I actually plan to restart Twilight Princess when I’m done, and give Wind Waker one more try in terms of actually getting out of the darn wind temple.

Leave a Reply

