Welcome, to the world of tomorrow

As I mentioned in “Is there a human doctor around?”, I got Bender’s Big Score for Christmas (though, when I wrote that post we were getting it through Netflix). Overall, its pretty good. I had kind of hoped that the main “villains” would have somehow tied into the series – like, I don’t know, Lrr, or maybe the Brain Spawn – because Nudar and his friends were kind of gross (a SPRUNGER? ick) and a little bit annoying on the first watch. I’ve watched it about 9 times now (and the extras, and the commentary) and they’ve grown on me, because they’re just the reason for the time traveling hijinx – which on first viewing made NO sense, but its sort of held up now that I’ve watched it 9 times. I almost understand it now (I’m really bad with time travel/multiple copies of people stories – I can never keep them straight). It was a little weird to watch an entire 1 and a half hour story – I’m used to plots flipping over at 25 minutes or less (we typically watch one disc at a time) and I’ll be interested to see how they chop it up for Comedy Central. While it certainly doesn’t stand up to some of the best Futurama episodes (like Jurassic Bark, or The Why of Fry) but overall it was a pretty fun way to bring back one of my very favorite shows. If you’ve already watched Futurama, watch Benders Big Score – if you haven’t, just ask to borrow my Season 1 DVD.

On a similar note, thanks to BoingBoing I came across what might be my new favorite way to waste time on the web. Modern Mechanix (“Yesterday’s Tomorrow, Today”), a blog that showcases the pasts’ view of the future. It’s a great look at the way people in the past (think the mid-20th century) look at the future, and its great for someone who likes Sci Fi, because SF is (often) an examination of the future – and SF from the 50s looks much different than SF from today. Modern Mechanix takes it one step further and showcases real predictions for “the future” from “the past” and “new technology” articles that range from the insightful to the absurd. (For another interesting take on this whole concept, read Asimov’s Change!: Seventy-One Glimpses of the Future (out of print, but I found it in a used bookstore) a look at the future (also known as “the past” or “now” for those of us living in 2007) written in 1981. Takes on the future are funny in light of all the talk about the future of the internet, communications, etc.

How much Xanax would someone scared of flying have to take to get on THAT?
Based on the amount of time in my youth I spent on the merry-go-round, I should look 20 right now.

And the gloves….still not done.

Leave a Reply

