Spinning Update & Sock Question

I’ve been spinning using my new wheel since Wednesday. Let’s just say its been a LOT of fun, but also a little bit frustrating. I started off trying to spin my white wool (which has since been spun) but it ended up looking like yarn barf, so I moved on to silk hankies – easy, because it has a lot of tooth, but you also mostly pre-draft it and don’t have to think so much on the drafting as you spin. Below, is a view of two of the silk hankies sets I’ve spun so far:

dscn2649.jpg

Soooo shiney!

But here’s my question – if you look at them, there is quite a few twists in there – which have been overspun (and I know this because…well, you just know). When I set the twist for my wool, it totally looked like a nice, twisty haired Shirley Temple type of yarn — which you don’t get a picture of because its currently hanging in my closet. I’ve always heard that either plying or “setting the twist” will help this, but I’d love to know how to nip this in the bud at the spinning time. Any thoughts?

Finally, my cousin Lisa, one of the five other knitters in my family, who not only does amazing knitting, but also spins, quilts and weaves has this question for readers of the blog for a problem she has with socks:


“I have turned into a sock-knitting fiend, and usually do plain stockinette stitch feet and then above the heel (I do toe to cuff), I switch to ribbing. It’s fine to begin with, but then after I wear them a time or two, the ribbing stretches out. How do I get it to be more fitted, without actually putting elastic in it? I use the same size needles throughout. Should I switch to a smaller needle for the ribbing? Any advice?”

I’ve told her that she might need to switch to smaller needles, or to do a 1×1 rib – which I usually do – but I thought I’d throw it out to the blog readership to see any thoughts ya’ll might have

 

4 thoughts on “Spinning Update & Sock Question

  1. As you get used to the feel of the wheel, you will find that your treadling will slow down, which will help. Also, which ratio are you using? For the singles which you are working on you should be using the slowest I think. (top most groove on the flyer). Hope that helps!

  2. I have had the same trouble with ‘standard’ ribbing. When making standard ribbed socks that are worn regularly, I have switched to knitting k3, p1, k1, p1 for the rib. It’s a bit prettier, still has the large part of the rib I like, but the p1, k1, p1 seems to keep my socks from becoming ‘loose’ with lots of wearings.

    Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

